Everything You Need to Know About Refreshing and Resetting Your Windows 8 PC Windows users regularly reinstall Windows (or restore from a recovery partition) to fix system problems. Windows 8 includes easier-to-use “Refresh” and “Reset” options that quickly restore Windows to a fresh, factory default configuration. Just as mobile devices have an integrated “reset to factory defaults” option, so does Windows 8. You can even create your own refresh image or access these options if your computer can’t boot. The Difference Between Refresh and Reset Windows 8 has two factory reset options, named Refresh and Reset. Both reset your computer to a fresh, factory default sate. Refresh preserves your files and installed Modern programs, while Reset removes everything on your system. When you Refresh your PC: · Windows will save your personal files, personalization settings, and Modern apps installed from the Windows Store. · Windows will reset your PC settings. · Windows will remove all installed desktop programs. A list of the removed programs will be saved to your desktop. By resetting your computer settings and removing all desktop programs, Windows 8 can “refresh” your PC so it’s more like a fresh install without deleting your personal files. When you Reset your PC, Windows will remove everything. Think of this like doing a complete Windows reinstall and formatting your hard drive.